Community Header
< BACK TO ALL CONVERSATIONS

Hi, I'm new to sewing...

Started by Michelle , author of Faith.Love & Insanity 11/29/2010 7:32:31 PM

Hi everyone, My name is Michelle. I just got my first sewing machine on Friday and I have been obsessed with it. I have never sewed before but I am looking for any kind of tips, ideas , patterns, tutorials anything that could help me out. Thanks :)

Share Conversation

Embed
+ Login to choose updates by email

Replies

Viewing 1 - 5 of 5
""

Reply by rezlana

author of Rezzi's World 12/4/2010 7:31:30 AM

Hi, Michelle I am new to sewing too. I have simply got no help from anybody but my husband who is loving and very helpful, but gradually i have looked at things and imagined them in my head and then created them . Honestly I have got a lot to learn.. you could also follow up some of the links in my profile and try the communities in blogfrog. I wish you luck in sewing:)

""

Reply by TheCottageMama

author of The Cottage Home 12/21/2010 8:52:38 AM

Hi Michelle,

I'm not the best at updating here on Blogfrog, but I think the very best think you can do is start reading sewing books and sewing blogs.

I pretty much taught myself to sew and have learned SO much through different books.  Some of my favorites are Bend the Rules with Sewing and Seams to Me - both of those have great intro's with lots of tips.  Portabellopixie has some really great patterns and her website offers a lot of great information.

I hope this helps and I'm sure you are going to LOVE sewing!!!!

Lindsay

The Cottage Mama

""

Reply by Brenda

author of It's all Relative 12/29/2010 3:39:29 PM

Congratulations on getting your first machine Michelle! It won't be long before you are sewing up a storm and you'll become a fabric addict.....like me! I'm totally obsessed with sewing, fabric and making beautiful things!

""

Reply by Meltastic

author of East Coast Girl 5/9/2011 12:55:00 PM